Betfred Sport

Beckham one of the favourites for 2012 sports personality award

David Beckham is among the favourites to win the 2012 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

But standing in his way are Jessica Ennis and Rebecca Adlington, who have already emerged as two of the top contenders, even though they were not nominated for this year's award.

Ennis is already the 6/1 favourite to win the 2012 award. The stars who are set to shine at the Olympics feature heavily at the top of the betting with this year's Sports Personality winner Mark Cavendish and Rebecca Adlington 8/1.

Andy Murray and Beckham, who could also feature at the Games, are both 9/1 to win the award next year with bookmakers William Hill.

“The Olympic Games is undoubtedly the highlight of next year’s sporting calendar and it would seem that only missing out on gold in London will stop Jess from scooping the BBC gong,” said William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly.

With the furore surrounding the all male shortlist this year, William Hill are offering 5/2 that a sportswoman wins the award next year.

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012:

6/1 Jessica Ennis; 8/1 Mark Cavendish; 8/1 Rebecca Adlington; 9/1 Andy Murray; 9/1 David Beckham; 10/1 Mo Farah; 10/1 Tom Daley; 16/1 Lewis Hamilton; 16/1 Sarah Stevenson; 20/1 Ben Ainslie; 20/1 Chrissie Wellington; 20/1 Jenson Button; 25/1 Bradley Wiggins; 25/1 Keri-Anne Payne; 25/1 Paula Radcliffe; 25/1 Phillips Idowu; 25/1 Rory McIlroy; 25/1 Sir Chris Hoy; 33/1 Amir Khan; 33/1 Beth Tweddle; 33/1 Dai Greene; 33/1 David Haye; 33/1 Joe Hart; 40/1 Alistair Brownlee; 40/1 Victoria Pendleton; 50/1 David Weir; 50/1 Frank Lampard; 50/1 Gareth Bale; 50/1 Hayley Turner; 50/1 John Terry; 50/1 Lee Westwood; 50/1 Louis Smith; 50/1 Rio Ferdinand; 50/1 Ronnie O’Sullivan; 50/1 Wayne Rooney; 66/1 Andrew Strauss; 66/1 Christine Ohurugu; 66/1 Darren Bent; 66/1 George North; 66/1 Hannah England; 66/1 Jermaine Defoe; 66/1 Jonathan Trott; 66/1 Judd Trump; 66/1 Kevin Pietersen; 66/1 Luke Donald; 66/1 Sam Warburton; 66/1 Steven Gerrard; 100/1 Tony McCoy; 100/1 Alastair Cook; 100/1 Audley Harrison; 100/1 Carl Froch; 100/1 Chris Ashton; 100/1 Darren Clarke; 100/1 George Groves; 100/1 Graeme McDowell; 100/1 Graeme Swann; 100/1 Ian Bell; 100/1 Ian Poulter; 100/1 James Anderson; 100/1 James DeGale; 100/1 Justin Rose; 100/1 Phil Taylor; 100/1 Rhys Priestland; 100/1 Sam Tomkins; 100/1 Stuart Broad.

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 - Team of the Year:

7/2 GB Olympic Track and Field team; 4/1 Ryder Cup Golf Team; 6/1 England Euro 2012 Team; 7/1 GB Olympic Cycling Team; 8/1 Team GB Olympic Swimming Team; 8/1 GB Olympic Rowing Team; 9/1 GB Olympic Football Team; 10/1 GB Olympic Boxing; 12/1 GB Paralympic Team; 16/1 England Men’s Cricket Team; 16/1 GB Olympic Sailing Team; 16/1 Any Premier League Football Team; 33/1 England Rugby Union Team; 33/1 Wales Rugby Union Team; 50/1 McLaren F1 Team; 100/1 England Women’s Cricket Team; 100/1 Scotland Rugby Union Team.

< Back to Other news